top of page

About LNSO


Latvijas Nacionālais simfoniskais orķestris ir Latvijas kultūras pamatvērtība. Tas izveidots

1926. gadā kā Rīgas Radiofona orķestris, un kopš 1990. gada orķestrim ir pašreizējais nosaukums.

The Latvian National Symphony Orchestra (LNSO) is one of the cornerstones of Latvian national culture. Founded in 1926 as the Riga Radio Centre Orchestra, the LNSO has borne its current name since 1990.


The orchestra is a six-time winner of the Grand Music Award, Latvia’s highest honour in classical music.

In May 2022, Finnish Tarmo Peltokoski became the Music and Artistic Director of the LNSO.

In Autumn 2021, Estonian Kristiina Poska, Chief Conductor of the Flanders Symphony Orchestra, became the Principal Guest Conductor of the LNSO.

The orchestra has been led by many brilliant talents and experienced significant growth under the baton of Vassily Sinaisky, Conductor Emeritus of the LNSO since 2017. More recently, notable contributions have been made by Olari Elts, Karel Mark Chichon, and Andris Poga, who was the Music Director and Chief Conductor of the LNSO from 2013 until 2021, when he became the Chief Conductor of the Stavanger Symphony Orchestra and Artistic Adviser to the LNSO.

In recent years, the LNSO has performed at the Alte Oper Frankfurt, the Philharmonie de Paris, the Théâtre des Champs Elysées, the Grand Théâtre of Aix-en-Provence, among many other important European concert halls. The orchestra has participated in the Festival de La Roque-d'Anthéron in France, the Bratislava Music Festival in Slovakia and has taken the stage in Germany, Switzerland, and the Baltic States.

Giving concerts in Latvia and abroad, the LNSO has collaborated with Ksenija Sidorova, Baiba Skride, Eva Bindere, Frank Peter Zimmermann and Vineta Sareika, Kristina Blaumane and Alexander Knyazev, Nicholas Angelich, Boris Berezovsky, Lucas Debargue, Lukas Geniušas, Daumants Liepiņš, Andrejs Osokins, Georgijs Osokins, Vestard Shimkus and Reinis Zariņš.


In the second half of the 20th century, the LNSO collaborated with Arvīds Jansons, Kurt Masur, Yevgeny Svetlanov, Gennady Rozhdestvensky, Kirill Kondrashin, Yuri Simonov, Neeme Järvi, Krzysztof Penderecki. Many maestros have guided the LNSO in recent times as well: Paavo Järvi, Mariss Jansons, Vladimir Fedoseyev, Andris Nelsons, Jean-Claude Casadesus, Gintaras Rinkevičius a.o. The orchestra has also worked with renowned young conductors such as Klaus Mäkelä, Maxim Emelyanychev, and Tarmo Peltokoski.

The LNSO regularly features in recordings of the Finnish label Ondine, focusing on the music by the most prominent Latvian composer of the 20th century Tālivaldis Ķeniņš, as well as the Latvian national record label SKANI.

bottom of page