Lithuanian born tenor Edgaras Montvidas was educated in Vilnius before joining the Young Artists Programme at the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden.

In the 2019/20 season Edgaras will sing Boris in Katya Kabanova for Hamburg Opera and the title role in the world premiere of Egmont by Christian Jost at the Theater an der Wien, conducted by Michael Boder. Concert highlights include Beethoven Symphony No. 9 on tour with Les Siècles and François-Xavier Roth; Stravinsky Persephone with the Boston Symphony Orchestra and Thomas Ades; and a gala concert at Théâtre des Champs-Elysées for Palezzetto Bruzane.
Future seasons will see him make debuts at Zurich Opera, La Scala and the Bregenz Festival; and return to the Royal Opera House Covent Garden.

Past opera appearances include Werther for the Opéra Nationale de Lorraine, Nancy and Bergen National Opera; Anatol in Barber Vanessa at Glyndebourne; Les Contes d’Hoffman in a new production by Barrie Kosky for Komische Oper Berlin; Flamand Capriccio for La Monnaie, Brussels; Edgardo Lucia di Lammermoor for Semperoper Dresden; Ruggero La Rondine and

Alfredo for Leipzig Opera; Pinkerton Madama Butterfly for Opéra Nationale de Lorraine, Nancy, as well as Lensky Eugene Onegin and Belmonte for Bayerische Staatsoper, Munich and Glyndebourne Festival Opera. He has also sung at Cincinnati Opera; Santa Fe Opera; Dutch National Opera; Opera Comique Paris; Grand Théâtre de Genêve; Oper Frankfurt; Opéra Nationale de Lyon and Aix-en-Provence Festival.

Concert highlights have included Fisherman Le Rossignol with the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra and Pierre Boulez; Szymanowski King Roger, Fisherman and Ravel L’Enfant et les sortilèges with the Boston Symphony Orchestra and Charles Dutoit; Szymanowski King Roger with Pappano for the Santa Cecilia Orchestra in Rome; Verdi Requiem on tour with the Monteverdi Choir and John Eliot Gardiner; Berlioz La Damnation de Faust with the Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra; Szymanowski Harnasie with the London Symphony Orchestra and Simon Rattle; and Ravel L’heure espagnole with the London Symphony Orchestra and François-Xavier Roth.

Recordings include Helios in Félicien David Herculaneum with the Brussels Philharmonic Orchestra and Hervé Niquet; Marcomir in Saint-Saëns Les Barbares; Gounod Le Tribut de Zamora and Godard Dante with the Munich Radio Orchestra.

Edgaras has been awarded the Lithuanian Order of Merit medal by President Dalia Grybauskaite; the Badge of Honour – ‘Carry You Light and Believe’ by the Lithuanian Ministry of Culture and in 2009 was awarded the Theatre Award ‘The Gold Cross of the Stage’ in Lithuania for his performances as Werther.

Latvian National Symphony orchestra



Tel.: + (371) 67224850

BOX OFFICE: + (371) 67213643

Address: Lielā Ģilde, Amatu 6, Rīga, LV-1050, Latvija

All Contacts

© 2019 by LNSO